DI Finds

Music lovers thoroughly enjoy scouring thrift stores and antique malls for musical treasures. I’ve found David Bowie’s Hunky Dory, Bob Dylan’s Highway 61 Revisited, Neil Young’s After the Gold Rush, Elton John’s Goodbye to Yellow Brick Road, and other classics in good condition for a good price on vinyl.

Aside from vinyl, I still enjoy scanning the CD rack at DI for good finds. Although CDs are becoming more and more irrelevant, I still have a CD player in my car and at home, and I’ll listen to anything good I can get my hands on regardless of the format. So, I decided this week’s blog post will be about some cool finds I discovered last Saturday at DI.

A quick side note may be necessary for the non-Utah reader: DI is short for Deseret Industries, a most excellent thrift store like unto Goodwill or Salvation Army.

 

  1. Yeah Yeah Yeahs: Fever to Tell (2003)

51JSJ5PX2JL

Courtney, a friend I had in high school, made me a mixtape that had two Yeah Yeah Yeah’s songs on it. Unfortunately, I have since lost that mixtape and was excited discover that DI had a copy of the Yeah’s (x3) debut album, which has the two songs from my long lost mixtape. The whole album is pretty good too. There’s definitely some similarity sonically between this album and Elephant era White Stripes with the heavily distorted guitar and Karen O’s swagger-filled vocals. This is definitely apparent on “Man” and “Cold Light.” Lyrically, O isn’t as subtle as Jack White, but that’s not a bad thing. A lot of the songs are pretty high in energy and intensity, so it’s good music to get psyched up to.

 

  1. Monsters of Folk: self-titled (2009)

MOF-BACKminix500

Monsters of Folk has been called an “indie supergroup” because its members consist of singer-songwriter M. Ward, Jim James (My Morning Jacket), Conor Oberst (Bright Eyes), and Mike Mogis (Bright Eyes). The terms “indie” and “supergroup” seem like a strange combination, but I’ll roll with it. I pretty much like all these artists, so I was excited that I found this and Fever to Tell among the myriad of Backstreet Boys and Christmas albums at DI.You can tell the guys are having a lot of fun on the album with rollicking country-rock songs like “Say Please,” “Whole Lotta Losin,” and “The Right Place.” But there are also some really quiet, contemplative tunes like “Dear God,” “Temazcal,” and “His Master’s Voice.” Some songs sound like they could be on an M. Ward or My Morning Jacket album, which is fine, but it makes me wonder why they were included on an album that is supposed to be different from the respective artists’ usual work. All in all, definitely worth the dollar that I paid for it.

 

  1. Seal: self-titled (1994)

seal2_1

I just learned from my friend Wikipedia that this is actually Seal’s second self-titled album and is sometimes referred to as Seal II. In 2003, Seal self-titled his fourth album too! This guy is so amazing that he doesn’t even need to name his albums. Anyways, the album I found at DI is the one that has “Kiss from a Rose.” I got excited because I have had discussions with my friends Ben and Travis about how amazing this song is, and we don’t like it in an ironic, guilty pleasure-type way. No, we genuinely like this song. I knew as soon as I saw it that I had to get it for Travis as he has been particularly enamored with the song, which is featured on Batman Forever and every dentist office I visit. To be honest, I didn’t get a chance to listen to the whole album, but even if it wasn’t good, it has “Kiss from a Rose,” which would more than make up for any other bad songs.

Well there you have it dear readers. I may write other posts where I detail my musical adventures at thrift stores and antique malls. I guess it all depends if I find anything good, and I sincerely hope I do.

Leave a Reply

